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NEBRASKA BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY 
P.O. Box 94725, Lincoln, NE  68509 

 
APPLICATION FOR CPA FIRM (INITIAL SET-UP) 

AS A 
LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY 

 
This application form is to be used to establish a new Certified Public Accountant firm entity in order to practice public 
accountancy in the state of Nebraska.  The application process for the Nebraska Board of Public Accountancy requires the 
completion and submission of this form; fees of $130 ($30 for a Certificate of Registration and $100 for a firm permit to 
practice); and Nebraska office fees sent to the Board office at the address listed above.  If you need assistance in the 
application process, please call our office.  
 
I.  REGISTRATION OF THE FIRM (PAA:  1-126; TITLE 288:  5-007.03, 11-002) 
 
1.  Legal Name of Limited Liability Company: ____________________________________________________ 

___ Yes ___ No Is "Limited Liability Company" or abbreviation "LLC" or "L.L.C." last words of name?  
(LLC Act 21-101-197) 

 
2.  Mailing Address for Headquarter Office _____________________________________________________ 
      (Street or P.O. Box)   (City)  (State) (Zip) 
 
3.  Physical Address (if different) ______________________________________________________________ 
      (Street)    (City)  (State) (Zip) 
4.  Phone # _______________________________________ 
 
5.  Fax # _________________________________________ 
 
6.  E-mail: ________________________________________ 
 
7.  Name of Registered Agent in this State: _____________________________________________________ 
 

Mailing Address of Registered Agent ___________________________________________________ 
 (LLC Act 21-101-197)   (Street or P.O. Box)  (City) (STATE) (Zip) 

Phone Number of Registered Agent_______________________________ 
 
8.  Is the firm organized as a legal entity - as a Limited Liability Company: 
    ____ Yes ____No Does the Certificate of Organization state that the firm is organized pursuant to the 

Limited Liability Company Act (LLC ACT 21-101 to 21-197)? 
9.  ____Yes ____No Is at least one member of the firm a Nebraska CPA in good standing? 
 
10.  ____Yes ____No Are the managers in charge of your Nebraska office(s) certified public accountants  

of this State and in good standing? 
PLEASE ALSO COMPLETE PAGES 2-5 AND RETURN TO THE NEBRASKA BOARD OFFICE 
 
BOARD USE ONLY: Date Rec’d. ______________ Check #_____________  
 
Amount $ 30.00        Code to:  475107  Receipt #_______________ Added to QEP Year ________ 
Amount $100.00        Code to:  475109  Receipt #_______________ Date Issued_______________ 
Amount $50.00 x # offices_____        Code to:  475112   Receipt #_______________ 
             1/23  
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CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION (LLC ACT 21-101 to 21-197)   
You will receive two copies of a Certificate of Registration; you must send one copy to the Nebraska Secretary of 
State with the appropriate fee.  It expires twelve (12) months from date of issue.  ($30 fee for Certificate of 
Registration.) 
 
List All Owners as of the date of this filing. Attach additional sheets if necessary. 
 
MEMBERS 
FULL LEGAL NAME 

RESIDENCE ADDRESS 
(Street, City, State, Zip) 

OFFICE 
LOCATION 

NE 
CERT. # 

NE 
PERMIT # 

     

     

     

 
MANAGERS: 
FULL LEGAL NAME 

 
NE. CERT. # 

 
NE PERMIT # 

   

   

   

 
 
OFFICERS: 
FULL LEGAL NAME 

 
TITLE 

 
NE CERT. # 

 
NE PERMIT # 

    

    

    

 
11. How many full-time, permanent employees are in your firm? _________________________________________ 
 

AFFIDAVIT 
 

This application for a Certificate of Registration MUST be signed by a Member of the business entity who is a Nebraska 
licensed CPA/PA. 
"I HEREBY CERTIFY that the above named limited liability company complies with the Nebraska Public Accountancy 
Act, Title 288, Revised and Substituted Rules of the Nebraska State Board of Public Accountancy, and the Nebraska 
Limited Liability Company Act.  I also acknowledge that Certificates of Registration expire 12 months from the date of 
issue and that I must apply annually for a new Certificate of Registration." 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Signature     Title       Date 
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OWNERSHIP OF FIRM: (PAA:  1-162.01) 
 
1.  What is the total number of LICENSED OWNERS of the firm BOTH IN and OUTSIDE Nebraska? _________ 
  
 What is the total number of NON-LICENSED OWNERS** of the firm BOTH IN and OUTSIDE Nebraska? _____ 
 (As of the last day of the month preceding this filing.) (You must provide a number.) 
 **If the firm has any owners who are NOT certified public accountants or public accountants, you must  
 answer the following questions a-i pursuant to Section 1-162.01 of the Public Accountancy Act.  Please refer to  
 the Act for the definition of a "non-licensed owner." 
 
 If the firm's owners are 100% licensed CPAs or PAs, then skip to "Firm Name" on page 4.  
 
 Firms with non-licensed owners: (As of the last day of the month preceding this filing) 
 a.   Of the total number of owners of the firm, what percentage constitute non-licensed owners? _____________% 
  (Must be a precise percentage; do not use < or > or approximate.) 
 b.   Does every non-licensed owner actively participate in the business?   
 
      No; Attach page with specific details.       Yes 
 
"Actively participate" is defined as the providing of personal services in the business entity licensed in Nebraska to 
practice public accounting, in the nature of management, performance of services for clients, or similar activities. 
Non-natural persons and individuals whose primary source of income from the business entity is provided as a result 
of passive investment will not be considered as actively participating in the business entity. 
 
 c.  Of the firm's equity capital, what percentage is held or has been received by the total number of non-licensed  
  owners? ________% 
  Of the firm's voting rights, what percentage is held or has been received by the total number of non-licensed  
  owners? ________% 
  Of the firm's profits or losses, what percentage is held or has been received by the total number of non- 
  licensed owners? ________% 
 
 d.   Does any non-licensed owner hold himself/herself out as a CPA, PA, owner, partner, shareholder, limited liability 
  company member, director, officer, or other official in any manner with the exception of the term "principal" as  
  defined by the Public Accountancy Act? 
 
      No      Yes; List name and title______________________________________ 
 
 e.   Does any non-licensed owner have ultimate responsibility for the performance of any audit, review, or  
  compilation of financial statements or other forms of attestation related to financial information? 
 
      No      Yes; List name___________________________________________ 
 
 f.   Has any non-licensed owner been convicted of any felony under the laws of any state, of the United States, or of  
  any other jurisdiction? 
 
      No      Yes; Attach information with specific details. 
 
 g.   Has any non-licensed owner been convicted of any crime, an element of which is dishonesty or fraud, under the  
  laws of any state, of the United States, or of any other jurisdiction? 
 
      No      Yes; Attach information with specific details. 
 
 h. Has any non-licensed owner had his/her professional or vocational license(s), if any, suspended or revoked by a  
  licensing agency of any state of the United States or of any other jurisdiction or otherwise been the subject of  
  other final disciplinary action by any such agency? 
      No      Yes; Attach information with specific details. 
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i.   Is any non-licensed owner in violation of any rule or regulation regarding the character or conduct promulgated by 
 the board relating to owners who are not certified public accountants or public accountants? 
 
      No      Yes; Attach information with specific details. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
 

FIRM NAME (1-161; (LLC ACT 21-101 to 21-197); Title 288:  5-007.03; 11-002) 
 
Is the firm name appropriate under Law and Rules? ___ Yes ___ No 
 - "Company" cannot be used with a professional corporation - only with partnerships and LLC's (see Law). 

- "Associates" must include at least two licensed, permanent employees (9/9/2016). 
 - Other terms/phrases, etc. may need to be reviewed by the Board (under Agency Declaratory Order). 
 
 
II.  REGISTRATION OF FIRM'S OFFICE(S) & WORK SPACE(S) (1-135; 288-10) 
According to Section 1-135 of the Public Accountancy Act of 1957, Revised, each office established or maintained for 
the practice of public accounting in this state by a permissible business entity, SHALL BE REGISTERED ANNUALLY 
WITH THE BOARD.  After the initial registration of the firm's office(s), the registration will be renewed by June 30 of 
each year. 
 
A $50 fee is charged for each Nebraska office. 
 
Each office shall be under the supervision of a manager who holds a Nebraska active permit ("office manager"*).  Such 
manager may serve in such capacity at one office only.  Such manager shall be directly responsible for the supervision and 
management of the office and may be subject to disciplinary action for the actions of the person or firm or any persons 
employed by that office of the person or firm which relate to the practice of public accountancy. 
 
Notification shall be given to the Board within thirty days of any change in manager of any office, and after the admission 
or withdrawal of a partner from any partnership or a member from any limited liability company so registered.  Notification 
shall also be given the Board when any firm changes its name, opens a new office or closes an office.  
 
FIRMS WITHOUT A NEBRASKA OFFICE: 
If your firm does NOT have a Nebraska office, please record the office location(s) where business for Nebraska 
clients is conducted, reports for Nebraska clients are issued, etc.   
 

OFFICE LOCATIONS: 
Please list each office location of the firm below.  Photocopy this page for more than five office locations and attach it to this 
application. Do not use Post Office addresses for the physical address.  Include City, State & Zip for both addresses.  
 
Mailing Address Physical Address Phone Number Office Manager* (CPA with Permit) 
1st 
($50) 

   

2nd 
($50) 

   

3rd 
($50) 

   

4th 
($50) 

   

5th 
($50) 
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WORK SPACE: 
Title 288, Chapter 10 defines "work space" as a temporary location maintained by a CPA or PA firm.  Work space shall be registered 
with the Board within ten days prior to first opening such work space, and the Board shall also be notified when such work space is 
closed for a period of more than thirty days.  Work spaces may not be advertised on permanent window or door signs, display signs, 
building directories, letterhead, business cards or in telephone directories, newspapers or other types of advertising.  Professional staff of 
a firm may practice public accountancy in such work space only on a part time basis.  There is no fee for registering work space 
locations. 
 
This firm has the following work space location(s): 
 
Street Address (include City, State, & Zip) Phone Number List Professional Staff There 
1st   

2nd   

3rd   

 
III.  FIRM PERMIT TO PRACTICE [1-136(1)(c) and (e)] ($100 Fee) 
THIS PERMIT WILL EXPIRE JUNE 30th.   Application must be completed and signed by the CPA in 
charge in Nebraska or the Nebraska licensee, include the $30 for a Certificate of Registration fee, $100 for a firm 
permit to practice AND $50 fee for each office located in NE, and have an original signature.  Incomplete 
applications will be returned unprocessed and deemed not to have been received. 

DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS  
1.   Within the last twelve months has your firm had any professional or vocational license revoked or suspended, has your  
 firm signed any stipulation or consent order or agreement with a state or federal agency, or been subject to any  
 investigative or other disciplinary action regarding such a license in this state or any other state or by the Federal  
 government?   
 
  No.  
 
   Yes; Attached are details regarding type of license, name and location of licensing agency, violation charged, action   
 taken (including stipulation and consent orders), effective date of sanction, and any other pertinent information.   
 
 
2.   Within the last twelve months has your firm been named in a lawsuit as a defendant with respect to lawsuits involving  Nebraska 

licensees or your Nebraska practice, regardless of where the lawsuit was filed? 
 
  No. 
 
 Yes; Attached are details regarding date of filing of lawsuit, name and location of the court, summary of  
 allegations, disposition of the lawsuit or status if still pending, and any other pertinent information.   

 
CERTIFICATION: 
THIS FORM MUST BE SIGNED AND DATED BY THE CPA IN CHARGE IN NEBRASKA OR BY THE 
NEBRASKA LICENSEE WHEN FIRM DOES NOT HAVE A NEBRASKA OFFICE BEFORE RETURNING TO 
THE BOARD.  (Only an original signature is acceptable.) 
"I certify on behalf of the firm that the statements made herein are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge 
and belief." 
 
Date_________________       Signature _______________________________________________________ 
 
                                 Printed Name ___________________________________________________ 
 
                                 Title ___________________________________________________________ 
 
                                 Nebraska CPA Certificate #___________________ 


