STATE OF NEBRASKA

BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY

P.O. Box 94725, Lincoln, NE 68509 1526 K Street, Suite 410, Lincoln, NE 68508 (402) 471-3595/ FAX (402) 471-4484

Home Page: www.nbpa.ne.gov



NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: December 7, 2022

CONTACT: Dan Sweetwood, (402) 471-3595

BOARD RESETS PERMIT FEES

At their September 9, 2022 Board meeting, the Nebraska State Board of Public Accountancy (Board), approved a recommendation from the Board's Executive Committee that permit & registration fees be returned to 2014 levels. The Executive Committee, based on information provided by staff including projections regarding current revenues and projected expenses, determined it was time to recommend fees return to 2014 levels. Areas of focus include future expenditures for the recent engagement of a new database provider and the need to fairly compensate and retain current staff. The Board, per regulations within NAC Title 288/ Chapter 4 sets permit & registration fees annually. Additionally, at their November 10, 2022 meeting the Board clarified the returned fees would begin January 1, 2023.

Executive Director Dan Sweetwood commented, "The ability for the Board to operate for nearly 10 years on a fee structure based on lowered fees from 2014 levels demonstrates the fiscally conservative nature of the current and past Boards. Spending has remained relatively flat, if not decreasing at times, over the years but projections revealed it was time to return to 2014 fee levels."

(see 2023 fees below)

Page 2
2023 FEES (Return to 2014 levels)

As of January 1, 2023				
SERVICE	CURRENT FEE		RESTORED FEE	
Initial Permits	\$100/\$175		\$125/\$200	
Active Biennial Permit Renewal	\$	175	\$	200
Inactive Biennial Permits	\$	70	\$	90
Reinstatement	\$	175	\$	200
Certificate of Reciprocity	\$	200	\$	400
Office Registration	\$	25	\$	50
PC Permit to Practice	\$	50	\$	100
LLC Permit to Practice	\$	50	\$	100
LLP Permit to Practice	\$	50	\$	100
Partnership Firm permit	\$	50	\$	100
Sole Proprietor Renewals	\$	25	\$	50
LLC Certificate of Registration	\$	25	\$	30
PC Certificate of Registration	\$	25	\$	30

The Nebraska State Board of Public Accountancy administers public accountancy law in Nebraska. Six of the eight Board Members are certified public accountants with active permits to practice and two are members of the public. Information about licensed CPA's can be obtained by calling the Board office at (402) 471-3595 or going to www.nbpa.ne.gov.
